When I began knitting 4 or 5 years ago, I read about knitters that would have 2, 3, or more projects going at once. I never thought I would be one of those. I always wanted to focus on one project at a time.

Then I made my first sweater. Granted, it was a baby sweater. But there was a lot of boring stockinette. And that was when I knew I had to have something else going on so I didn’t get totally bored. I added in one small project. I decided on projects like sweaters, I would have another, easier or more challenging project going on (depending on the difficulty of the sweater.) And I have been good about keeping my UFOs (unfinished objects) down to a minimum.

In April, I decided to start on a pretty large project. I decided to undertake the Susie Hoodie from More Big Girl Knits. I am a Big Girl, so I knew this meant lots and lots and lots of knitting. It is done in an aran weight yarn, so no bulky yarn to make the project faster! I started working on it and, thanks to the great cables down each side of the front, the knitting went quickly. I only have a few hours each evening to knit, if I am lucky, so I was pleasantly surprised to see it take shape rather fast. I have just added the sleeves and I am working on the yoke, so I can see the end in sight!

Susie Hoodie Cable

Susie Hoodie Cable

In the midst of knitting the sweater, I happened to pick up and start another project. I am not sure what got into me, but I happened to pick up my size 1 needles and some fingering weight yarn to make my husband an argyle vest. Well, most specifically, The Drunken Argyle Vest from Knitty! Now, DH is not a small man! Thankfully he did lose 70 lbs 2 years ago, so I am not having to knit quite as much now! This will be his first non-accessory item from me. I had actually planned to give this to him for Christmas – last year! Now, it looks like it will be Christmas this year instead! I am actually very pleased with how fast this one is knitting up, even with such small needles and yarn. The pattern keeps my attention without being challenging. I sneak in a few hours here and there and it is currently a pretty portable project, so it goes with me to my Grandmother’s house on Wednesdays. DH has not seen it and I don’t plan to show it to him, either! I am only on the back and haven’t reached the armhole shaping yet, but hopefully I won’t let this project die!

And, in the midst of all of this sweater knitting, I decided to knit up a dishcloth this week! Thankfully dishcloths are easy and fast. I had been talking to my grandma and she mentioned that her mom used knitted dishcloths. Grandma isn’t a knitter, so she can’t make her own. So, I want to knit her up a set for Christmas. Of course, Grandma can’t be the only one to get dishcloths for Christmas. Mom and Sister will each want some, too! So, they will also get a few. I am still not sure what a set will be, but I figure I will try to knit a dishcloth a week. I can get one almost completely finished in an evening with a good old movie or episodes of Enterprise on Tivo. I have almost 22 weeks until Christmas. Take 2 weeks off that to knit some nice comfy socks from worsted weight for Grandpa and I will have 20 dishcloths! I can give some to Grandma, Mom, Sister, and even Aunt and they will have 5 a piece – enough for week of washing dishes! I plan to make at least one scrubby for each of them and the rest will be cloths. I already have one or two hiding away, I think, too, so that may reduce the number even more.

I will try to post pics of the other items very soon. And the Susie Hoodie will need a new picture soon, too!

