I am not a big list person. I am not one to make lists every day of all the things I have to do. But I do like lists in general, especially to help me keep track of the bigger things I need to do. DH and I currently have a list for home improvements/repairs to do, I have a list of different type of spinning fibers I want to try, I have an ongoing wishlist for books and fiber equipment, and there is my Knit List. Every year for the last 3 years I have kept a list of all of the knitting projects I want to do, organizing it with the projects I have finished (FOs) and my current works in progress (WIPs.)

In the past two years of keeping a list, I have been pleasantly surprised at how many items I have marked off my list by the end of the year. I don’t ever finish my list completely – I can’t knit that fast – but that helps me make my next list. And I do make changes through the year. On my list for this year, I just changed the projects I had originally wanted to make for the kids for Christmas since their tastes have changed. It is not law and it is always fluid, and that is the way I like it. I do have some projects that appear every year. One of these days I will get all of those socks knit that I have been wanting to do! But each year, I do get items marked off, and it feels good. The last two years have each seen 19 FOs. I am not sure I will make that this year, but I will try!

So, here is my list. (Once I figure out exactly how to do it, it will appear in the sidebar.)

Finished (As of 1/1/08)

  1. Socks for me
  2. Soaker for DS
  3. Dishclothes (4)
  4. Purse for me
  5. Crowns for DD & G
  6. Swiffer cover
  7. Sweater for DS
  8. Soaker for DS (large) (denim blue)

WIP:

  1. Susie Cardigan for me
  2. Soaker for DS (x-large)
  3. Dishcloths (15-20) (completed 10) (Christmas)
  4. Sweater vest for DH

To Knit:

  1. Christmas Stockings for family
  2. Ballet slippers for DD
  3. Stuffed dog for DS (Christmas)
  4. Scarf for me from handspun
  5. Socks for DH
  6. Wrap for Mom (Christmas)
  7. Scarf for FIL (Christmas)
  8. Scarf for MIL (Christmas)
  9. Socks for L (2 pr)
  10. Socks for me
  11. Hat for DS (Christmas)
  12. Hat for DD (Christmas)
  13. Doll for DD (Christmas)
  14. Wrap for K (Christmas)
