Well, I made it through all of the Christmas knitting and crafting, for the most part. I am quite pleased with how my items turned out and plan to continue knitting and sewing for those I love the most.

All in all, I knitted 12 items and 15 washcloths (I tend to count those as one project, though) and I sewed 5 items for gifting. It was a lot of work, but it was all a lot of fun and I enjoyed the majority of the process. I did most of the knitting while watching my favorite shows on Tivo, late at night after the rest of the household was asleep. What a great way to relax at the end of the day! The sewing had to be done in the evenings while my husband watched the kids, though, since I used my machine and it is near the bedrooms.

So, for a quick rundown (with pictures!) of my projects for Christmas 2008, here you go!

Mom got the Shetland Triangle in black alpaca.

My sister got a Sunday Market Shawl made from my handspun yarn.
My little guy got Sunny The Puppy and a Puppy Dog Hat.

My daughter recieved Jemima Jane (she calls her Sunflower) and a ponytail hat.

I knit scarves for two of my in-laws. My father-in-law got the Red Herring scarf and his wife got Holding Hands, Feeding Ducks.

Grandpa got socks and Grandma got dishcloths (I also gave dishcloths to my sister and Mom.)

My mother-in-law got a special gift. I had spun up some yarn, including some merino mixed with the hair from our dogs, and knitted them into squares, felted them, cut them, sewed them together, and added fabric border and backing. She adores our dogs and the pillow brought tears to her eyes!

Oh, and because I didn’t have enough to do, I knitted two small ornaments as gift card holders for my daughter’s preschool teachers!

I also did a bit of sewing. My kids each got handmade PJs. The bottoms were flannel and the tops were purchased T-shirts with appliques matching the bottoms.

They both also received bathrobes, but I haven’t uploaded the pictures yet. I will add those soon.

And finally, my favorite gift by far to sew and give: my brother’s “pirate” shirt! He dresses as a Spaniard for Ren Fests and needed a shirt to wear with his costume. My step-mom called his costume a pirate costume, so that is what I went for, but the shirt still works with his costume well. He was so darn excited to get this shirt! And I LOVED making it and seeing his face when he opened it! Here are pictures of my DH modeling it, although it is 2 sizes too large on him!

Phew! I am glad I have a few months before I start planning and knitting and sewing for next year!

Oh, and I will say that I was thrilled to receive several knitting related items for Christmas! My mom got me the Knitpicks Options set and Favorite Socks: 25 Timeless Designs From Interweave. My husband got me The Best Of Interweave Knits: Our Favorite Designs From The First Ten Years and all three of the Vogue Knitting Stitchionary books!

So, all in all, I had a very crafty Christmas! And I hope there are many more to come!

