I have always loved sweaters. Somewhere I have a collection of sweaters I have gathered over the years. I used to wear a lot of pull-overs, but now I prefer cardigans and I have quite a few of those. For Christmas, my grandmother bought me a gorgeous burnt orange hooded, cabled, zipped cardigan. I love it! It is the perfect color, fits great, and is 100% cotton, so not too hot, especially when chasing after a toddler and a preschooler.

But the guilt associated with sweater! I can’t believe how much guilt I get when I slip it on! Why? Well, I am a Knitter! I could have knit that sweater myself! It would have been easy enough. There is nothing particularly difficult about the pattern. I could probably look at it and come up with a similar pattern myself.

I just have to keep reminding myself that knitting a sweater for me would take a long time. It would cost more (usually) than just buying the sweater when you look at getting a nice yarn. And it is 100% cotton, which is not very stretchy and tends to hurt my hands after a while. So I should be OK with buying some sweaters, right?

Oh, the guilt of being a knitter! I don’t think I will ever be able to buy a pair of knitted mittens, gloves, a scarf or a hat, or even socks without at least feeling a pang of guilt.

