I subscribe to a great crafting blog called Sew, Mama, Sew! June is “Sewing Machine Month” and to kick it off, they are asking readers to complete a Sewing Machine Meme. So, I thought I would participate! Here we go!

What brand and model do you have? I have a Singer Confidence 7470.

How long have you had it? Since February or so of this year.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)? Approx. $500

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)? Clothing, home decor projects, some basic quilting

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get? 2-3 times a week, usually an hour or so at a time. So very light use.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name? I LOVE my machine! But it doesn’t have a name.

What features does your machine have that work well for you? I love the ease of threading, winding bobbins, selecting a stitch pattern and the auto tension.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine? The only thing I don’t care for is the hesitation when sewing. If I have been sewing, take my foot off the pedal enough to make it stop, then try to sew again, it hesitates.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it! I had a very, very basic Singer before this machine and wanted a new one badly. I received some money for Christmas and wanted to use it for a new machine. I had planned to buy a basic electronic Singer sewing machine from JoAnn’s. My husband told me he would order it for me. A week or so later, my 7470 arrived! It was the machine I had dreamed of, but didn’t think I could afford! It was a combo birthday/Mother’s Day/Christmas gift and it was a HUGE surprise!

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why? Yes, I would recommend this machine to others. It is easy to use, threads easily, it is quiet and yet it is sturdy. It feels like it will last for a long time.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine? Ease of use, clear instruction manual, and having a list of needs that match what the machine will offer.

Do you have a dream machine? Eventually I would love to move up to an embroidery machine. My dream machine would be the Husqvarna Viking Designer Diamond machine.

